College of Education

Ed.D. Program

Doctorate of Education (Ed.D.) in Educational Leadership

in cooperation with the University of Texas at San Antonio
the Ed.D. in Educational Leadership.

Program Information

Dissertation UTSA Welcome (PDF)

Student Handbook (PDF)

Course Scope & Sequence (PDF)

Informational Powerpoint (PDF)

TV Interview

UTSA Educational Leadership



Embedded audio volume control:

Or download the MP3 here.

“The UTSA-UTPB cooperative doctoral program in educational leadership offers an emphasis in P-12 leadership. There is currently no higher education emphasis in the cooperative doctoral program. As such, preference in admissions will be given to applicants whose academic preparation and experience align with post-doctoral professional and/or academic work in P-12 education.” 

Justification for this language comes from the student handbook on the UTPB website, specifically those portions that outline only a P-12 program of study and page 6 of the handbook, which states: 

The doctoral program is comprised of three core elements -- course work, the qualifying examination and admission to candidacy, and the dissertation proposal and dissertation. The Ed.D. in educational leadership program has two different emphases: (1) the P-12 emphasis and (2) the higher education emphasis. Each of these emphases has the aforementioned three core elements. For at least the first UTPB cohort, only the P-12 emphasis will be offered.

Thank you for your interest in our doctoral program. The application period for Cohort II has begun. Applications for Cohort II will be to be taken in Spring 2011, with the newly selected group of students beginning classes at UTPB in Fall 2011. The selection process is highly competitive. As with Cohort I, only the top 12 applicants will be selected.

We do not have any scholarships specifically set aside for this program. However, accepted students may apply for Financial Aid through the University of Texas at San Antonio. Coursework is located at UTPB and taught by UTPB faculty. However, at this time the courses and the program belong to UT San Antonio. The doctoral program is not available online. All courses are taken at the UTPB campus. Since it is a cohort program, every selected student commits to taking the specified courses every semester including summers.

Our First Cohort

First Cohort

Standing from left to right: Dr. Roy Hurst, Jennifer Seybert, Stephanie Howard, Debra Christenson, Ian Roark, Sheryl Mahaffey, Corey Davis, Kim Randolph, Patrick Poe, Dr. James Laub, Michelle Jarnagin, Mark McDonald,  Richard Kncaid and James Johnston. Kneeling in front: Dr. Elaine Wilmore and Dr. Amy Burkman.

Our Faculty

UTSA-UTPB Faculty 2010

Faculty Information


Jessica Garrett-Staib, Ed.D.

Associate Professor


Tom Parks, Ph.D.

Visiting Professor